Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Mother's Intuition

Default Mother's Intuition

What an important lesson I had reiterated to me today. To trust that little voice and feeling that you will get as a mother in regards to your children.

Baby #4, so obviously, I have a lot of BFing experience by now. I have been nursing for 6 years. I have helped a lot of different mamas with a lot of different situations. So I know what I'm talking about in regards to nursing.

Anyhow, when baby #4 was born, we knew there would be a cleft lip at least from ultrasound. It didn't look like there would be any palate involvement, but the only way to be 100% sure was to check after birth.

When Gavin was born, the midwives and I all checked The two of them felt in there, and I let him suck my finger. All seemed OK. But....I couldn't get him to latch well most of the time. It just didn't feel right even when he did latch on. There was also this odd clicking noise, and not like the click of a tongue tied baby; it was different.

Then there was one episode when he was about 12 hours old where he seemed to regurgitate, but it came out his nose, and he was really coughing and choking more than I would expect. I was puzzled by that. And I started to get a weird feeling.

Since I have my babies out of the hospital, I am required to have a follow-up visit with the ped when the babies are 24-48 hours old. The midwife strongly recommended it sooner rather than later because of the potential for these issues, and we got an appointment with our ped for today. I mentioned that I didn't have a good feeling about how nursing was going and that he couldn't always get a really good latch. She said, OK, we'll take a really good look. The room was well lit, and she got out a focused light, and we took a good look....particularly when he screamed about us looking pretty far in there