Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Early weaning in a 22.5wk old exclusively BF baby following weight loss

Default Early in a 22.5wk old exclusively BF baby following weight loss

Hi, I've not posted here before, and am looking for some advice. I am a newly qualified midwife on maternity leave, feeling a bit useless and lost.

We have a five month old son who was born at 42wks gestation, weighing 3780g. This put him on the 75th centile for weight. He is - to this day - exclusively breastfed, and continued to gain along this centile until he was approx 12 weeks, at which point his weight gain slowed, dropping to the 50th centile, then to just below the 9th, at which point he had lost 10g as opposed to gaining. This was discovered 4 weeks ago. The weight lost coincides with him sleeping through the night more often, and me expressing prior to him waking (I realise I have been feeding the freezer), and also with me joining weightwatchers and losing half a stone. I don't think there was anything pathological causing his weight loss, just me not feeding him often enough and stealing his cream to give to him when I go back to work (for which I feel AWFUL).