Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: 4 weeks old-still need to wake every 2 hours to feed?

Default 4 weeks old-still need to wake every 2 hours to feed?

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting here, but I have a 4 week old son who has been EBF since birth. He was 8lbs 1 oz at birth and weighed in at 9 lbs 10 oz at 2 1/2 weeks, so he's gaining weight just fine. When I left the hospital, they told me that I should be feeding him every 2-2 1/2 hours during the day (waking him to eat) and every 3-4 hours at night. I keep hearing about feeding on demand, but do you still wake your newborn to eat if he's been sleeping for too long? If he's sleeping, how often should I wake him during the day? He wakes on his own every 3-4 hours at night. I don't want to over feed him, but I do want to make sure he's getting enough and that my milk supply stays steady.

Also-when is a newborn no longer a newborn? I keep reading "in the early weeks" or "in the first few weeks." Just curious.

Thank you!

Default Re: 4 weeks old-still need to wake every 2 hours to feed?

I have the same question, lol. I feed DD on demand, but shes been going on 3 hours almost for this nap and I am uncomfortable!

my Lo is 5 weeks old and i do not wake him for feedings anymore, he has gone 4.5 hrs at night and since he is gaining weight fine, i do not feel the need to wake him. since your babies are gaining weight well also, i would not worry anymore about waking them to feed, if you are uncomfortable, you can handexpress some milk to release pressure. I think healthy babies know how much they need and there comes a time, when a mom should be able to sleep as long as baby and not having to disrupt the sleep of both.

Hmm, I think the key you identified is waking to 'feed' because bfing is much more than just getting nutrients and slaking hunger.
    http://www.kellymom.com/bf/normal/frequent-nursing.html

Here's one of my favourite articles on infant sleep: