Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: New to breastfeeding-NEED HELP LATCHING!

Default New to breastfeeding-NEED HELP LATCHING!

My daughter was born on December 30th and since then she has been strictly breastfeeding. She is my first born, I am very new to breastfeeding. I have friends who are moms who all tell me that I will get the hang of breastfeeding and for the most part I have. I however, am having a hard time trying to get that "perfect latch." I have done some reading on this, saying it shouldn't hurt when she latches on, and have been told to either aim for the middle of her mouth or even try to aim for the top of her mouth. It hurts when she latches on and I have bloody and what looks to be the verge of cracked nipples. Are there any helpful tips out there that can help me find the easiest way to get my little one to latch on properly? Any feedback is greatly appreciated. Thanks ladies!

Default Re: New to breastfeeding-NEED HELP LATCHING!

Is there anyway you could schedule a hands-on consultation with an IBCLC? When it comes to latch problems, there is really nothing like some in-person, hands-on help. Or you could try calling your local LLL leader, or going to a local group. Seeing other babies latch on can be really helpful - so much more helpful than reading about it in books or here. It's really a kinesthetic and visual learning thing, you know?

That said, we might be able to help you trouble shoot. Does your nipple look like a lipstick after nursing or it is elongated but symmetrical? Do you feel any burning or itching in your nipples when you aren't nursing? What are you doing to treat them?