Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: To pump or not to pump

Question To pump or not to pump

That is my question! Is it possible, has anybody ever kept a good supply..not pumping at work and only bfing at from late afternoon on until the wee hours of the morning? I work 40 hours a week, mon-fri, from 7 am to 3 pm. I'm a front office manager at a hotel, and most of the time I'm up here alone. Honestly, and I feel terrible for this, I'm lucky if i get to pump once a day. My DS is stuck at daycare with yucky formula. Now its not that my job WONT let me pump, its just difficult to coordinate with other employees. (becasue somebody ALWAYS has to be at the front desk)

So my actual question is.. Can I pump only once a day and still keep a supply for my DS?

Default Re: To pump or not to pump

how old is your baby?

I guess that would be good info huh! lol he is 9 weeks already!

9 weeks pretty young yet...

figure out how to get a break,
    you'll feal more comfortable and you'll get more milk to send to day care that way..
    at that age if I didn't nurse every 3 hours I would have been very uncomfortable.

http://www.kellymom.com/bf/pumping/b...s-pumping.html

this is a good link too:
    http://www.kellymom.com/bf/weaning/weaning-partial.html

Is it not "normal" to not get full at this point?? Ive gone a full shift, 8 hours, with out pumping or nursing and still not even leak. I know he's getting enough while nursing, hes gaining weight and thriving. And i do get on average 7 oz if i pump twice during the day. Come to think of it, i never even felt full the first few weeks after he was born. at least i know he's healthy!!
    I'm going to talk to my co-worker today about covering. I should be able to pump at least once a day I think!