Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: question about extended breastfeeding

Default question about extended breastfeeding

I have been breastfeeding for 15 months and I have also been pumping while at work (use to pump 3 times a day but I am now down to 1 time). My LO was exclusively BF until 6 months when she was introduced to solids. She didn't show much interest in solids until about 11 months. Since my LO is now eating more solids, she is down to nursing in the morning before I go to work, sometimes when I get home but not everyday, everynight before she goes down, about 1 to 2 times in the middle of the night and occasionally on weekends and days I don't work she may nurse 1 or 2 times during the day (pretty much when she's with me and requests it she'll nurse and when she's not she'll drink expressed milk). She has been introduced to cow's milk and likes it but she continues to drink expressed milk while I am at work (she won't take a bottle she drinks from sippy cup). My thing is, I want to stop pumping while at work but I am terrified that I won't have enough milk when she goes to nurse. She doesn't seem to be ready to wean and I am in no rush to wean either. I am seeking advice from any fellow extended BFers. Is it necessary for me to continue to pump in order to continue nursing? If I stop will she still get enough milk at the times that she does nurse? If I do stop pumping I will continue to give her the expressed milk which I have stored and once that runs out I will just give her cow's milk and continue to nurse at her request. Again, my main concern is that if I stop pumping all together she will not get enough milk when she wants to nurse. I was just wondering if other mom's who have/are extended breastfeeding pumped as well. Any advice, feedback or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Default Re: question about extended breastfeeding

After baby is about one year old your milk supply should be pretty stable.