Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Did I "over-fix" my oversupply/overactive letdown?

Default Did I "over-fix" my oversupply/overactive letdown?

Hi ladies, this is my first time posting.

LO is almost 6 weeks and about 11 pounds (was 8 lbs 2 oz) at birth. She latched on perfectly from the get-go, and I started feeding 15 minutes on each side every 3 hours. At her 2 week appt she was up to 9 lbs 10 oz so her doc said she could go every 4 hours. Over those first few weeks it was apparent that I was producing a LOT of milk. She'd gag and thrash at the breast because so much was gushing out and it would spray her in the face if she'd stop sucking. She'd also spit up quite a bit and we finally figured out we were overfeeding her so I went down to 10 minutes a side. She was still getting sprayed in the face and having lots of gas/choking milk issues, so I started doing a bit of research on overactive letdown/oversupply.

Based on suggestions, I started just feeding from one breast each feeding and she's usually eating every 3-4 hours. I don't know if I'm being oversensitive since I'm used to having my breasts feel ultra-full and heavy, but I feel like I'm not producing enough. Also, I'd like to pump occasionally to start building a milk bank for when I go back to work, but will this interfere with this reduced schedule I've created to fix my overactive letdown? When should I pump? I used to be able to get 5oz from one breast (!), and now I can barely get 1.5 - 2.

Part of me feels like I'd rather have too much milk (and maybe pump or squirt into a towel to relieve the pressure/letdown) than not enough, and I also want to make sure that LO is getting enough of the good hindmilk. Should I go back to two breasts at each feeding? Help! Anyone have any suggestions or have you gone through this?

Default Re: Did I "over-fix" my oversupply/overactive letdown?