Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can I wean at one year?

Default Can I wean at one year?

I have been bfing twins for 8 months now and I am exhausted. I go back to work just before their first birthday and had planned to wean them at one year old. They have been eating solids 3x a day and we just introduced meat, with suggestions to try yogurt soon. They still nurse about 6 times a day and once or twice at night and I cannot imagine keeping up with that regime while being at my job. They love eating food and are big and healthy.

I know bfing has lots of benefits beyond one but I had thought that, nutritionally, they could get everything they need from food. Our new doc doesn't agree though and seems to be saying I should give them formula after one year old if I stop nursing or partially stop nursing. I am not going to give them formula after all this time and struggle to bf.

Has anybody weaned at one (or before) and just gone to solid food without giving formula or bottles of cow's milk to replace nursing? Or how about info on nutrients a baby can't get from food? Can they just not digest enough volume to meet their needs? Very confused and looking for advice...

Default Re: Can I wean at one year?

I believe some doctors are saying breastmilk or formula for the first two years.

Personally, I think if you wanted to wean after a year, you could give yourself a HUGE pat on the back and feel very proud of yourself.

I would wait, though, to see how you are actually feeling about everything when they turn a year. You might feel differently. Nursing does get easier as the baby gets older.

Jeanne (my middle name IRL)

Mommy to two girls (M & M), born Sept. '07 and Sept. '09

Can you pump at work? Pumped milk will be more familiar to them than formula or cow's/goat's milk. It might be good to try offering a bottle months before you return to work so they can get used to it.