Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Finding Time to Pump While Nursing

Default Finding Time to Pump While Nursing

I have an 8 week old son, and I work as an ER nurse 3-4 days per week, 12 hour days. If any other women here work as nurses, I'm sure you would agree how crazy busy your day can become; sometimes your lucky to get a bite to eat or go use the bathroom.
    I've been trying to pump every 3-4 hours a work, but lately I've been missing some pumping sessions here and there and I know if I keep that up my supply will go down. My supervisors have been supportive of my pumping and my charge nurse has always let me get off the floor to go pump thus far. I guess I feel bad, when things have gotten especially busy and we're stretched thin as, asking for time to go pump. Do any other working moms have any suggestions? I guess I just have to remind myself that I'm not being selfish, I'm doing this for my son.
    Last edited by @llli*luthien; September 27th, 2010 at 01:53 PM.

Default Re: Finding Time to Pump While Nursing

Hm, that's a tough situation when you don't have a routine that makes it easy to schedule pumping breaks. But you're absolutely right -- it's not selfish or a luxury. It's not like taking a smoke break or getting a cup of coffee. It's feeding your child! You don't need to feel guilty about that (although I can certainly understand it's hard to have to walk away when things are hectic).

I'm sure there are other moms here who have had a similar type of work situation... Hopefully some of them will chime in with experiences.
    Karen
    Forums Admin

Find an LLL Leader or Meeting | Get one-on-one help from a Leader online | Become a Member of LLLI

Feel like you need professional help? ¿Es usted necesita ayuda profesional? --> Find an International Board Certified Lactation Consultant (IBCLC) <--