Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: New and ned help - PLEASE

Default New and ned help - PLEASE

I am new to LLL. I am a mother of 3. My recent 5 weeks princess, 5 weeks young today. My first son I could only BF for 3 weeks, my second son I did not bf. I would like to bf my daughter for as long as possible.
    I wish I would have done so with my other 2 - but did not and now am looking for help with this one.....

1.) She has thrush. Was just recently diagnosed with it when we asked her doctor why her tounge has been white since birth and what we can do for her. We asked if we should be cleaning it and she stated she had thrush. Put her on 1/2 teaspoon of Nystatin 4 times a day to be applied to inside of her mouth as a topical solution and to myself as well.
    Am wondering if anyone else thinks this is too much? Is there a "natural" solution to help? I noticed the side effects of this medication can be stomach upset, diahrea and vomitting... she is having stomach upset.....

2.) The past 3 days she has latched on and drank good for about 5 minutes and then becomes very fussy and naws at me after that. Even cries and wines. She will pull her head back on my nipple and yank on it. I am wondering if she is getting enough. It is not as though she is getting too much! I feel let down about every 6 hours. When I take her off, she screams bloody murder and is quite upset. Do you think this has to do with the thrush?
    She has been eating every 3 hours during day and 3 - 4 at night......

3.) How do I know what to expect at each week? Like - what should I expect at week five? What is the norm of how long and how many hours she should be eating. How much should I be producing? After reading over a few artlicles on the LLL website - I do not think I am producing enough milk. Pump after 1 hour of feeding - get nothing. Pump after 2 hours of feeding - get 1/2 ounce from Left and 1 ounce from right Pump 3 - 4 hrs of feeding - get 1 ounce from Left and 1.5 from right