Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Do I need to start using formula?

Default Do I need to start using formula?

I'm about to start working out of the home only two days a week for a couple of hours. My baby refuses to take a bottle, which I am addressing in another forum on this site but I have a problem which I'm embarrassed to admit on this forum:

I am one of those insane producers especially at night and in the morning. I really wasn't sleeping during the night from engorgement and night sweats. I finally had to work to slow down how much I was producing and pumping and now sleep the whole night beautifully without worrying about my breasts!

Because of all the months of pumping at before bed, over night and the AM and because I always feeding the baby myself, I had a huge stash of frozen expressed breastmilk. Now due, to wasting it a lot trying bottles, or using it for cereal, or taking it out in case when I visited my family and my husband and I tried to have a date, etc etc I wasted sooooo much of it. Now when I pump solely in the AM after LO first feeding I only I only yield tops 6 oz - now even less bc he's feeding at 6 am then going back to sleep so I'm yielding even less maybe only two ounces since he sleeps the night quite early and stays asleep until 6 AM.

This is great but for when I need to leave LO he can drink 10-12 oz from a bottle. Do I have to give him a little formula?

Default Re: Do I need to start using formula?

I don't think this sounds like a big problem at all! If you can get 6 ounces in a pumping session, or even once a day, that should amount to around 30 ounces a week, if you only pump on the days you don't work. That should give you around 15 ounces for each of the days you do work.

Even if you can only pump 2 ounces in a session, that should add up to around 10 ounces per week, just on the 5 days you are at home. Which would give you about 5 ounces for each of the 2 days you work out of the house.