Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bottle refuser, marathon BFer

Default Bottle refuser, marathon BFer

Hello, I'm new to the LLLI website and boards. I have a 10 week old little boy, first baby.

Issue #1: He's always been a little marathon nurser. He's gaining weight appropriately, has wet and dirty diapers all day long. However, he'll feed for about 2-4 minutes on one side, and start crying with the other side. Sometimes I can coax him to feed from the other for about the same amt of time while preventing a total meltdown. He will spit up on occasion, never cries when he burps or spits up, so my MD has ruled out reflux. Let it be, roll with the punches, or is there a problem? Oftentimes, this leaves me engorged on one side and I have to pump in order to be able to do things like sleep...

Issue #2: I return to work in a little under 3 weeks. I work 12 hour shifts, and will bring home pumped milk. We've been trying to integrate a bottle since about 6 weeks UNSUCCESSFULLY. He'll drink about 2 ounces in 30-45 minutes and then just cry. We're using Born Free bottles, which according to BabiesRUs website have great reviews. Is my son a bottle snob? If so, what should we try that will work, without spending hundreds of dollars on all sorts of bottle systems. I'm so scared to leave him alone when he's feeding like this from the bottle..

Default Re: Bottle refuser, marathon BFer

Don't know why I made the title 'Marathon!' More like quickie...lol

I'm sorry you're having a hard time. My daughter was a bottle refuser too. I don't have a lot of time right now, so I just wanted to speak to your first "issue."

It sounds like you may have overactive letdown. Here's a page on that:

http://www.kellymom.com/bf/supply/fast-letdown.html

Also, I think it could be reflux even if he's happy. Maybe someone will come along and speak to that for you.
    Tracie

Mommy to
    Lilah 10/08 nursed 25 months
    Beatrix 01/11 nursed 30 months