Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Not pumping enough?

Default Not pumping enough?

My daughter was born a month early and because of that was not able to breast feed. She is 3 weeks old now and still not quite ready so i am still pumping. This is my first time pumping and breastfeeding. I pump during the day every 2-3 hours and at night every 3-4 hours and i use the hospital grade medela double pump. When i pump i only get 1.5oz-3oz total. At first it was plenty but my daughter is starting to eat more and some days i am having to give her formula as well. Is it normal for me to only be pumping that amount? I hear about women pumping 6oz in a sitting and i am no where near that. i have tried the mothers milk tea (my LC suggested it) but it made me sick. i am just worried that my supply is low or something. thanks in advance!!!

Default Re: Not pumping enough?

The average mom pumps between 1/2 oz to 2 oz (both breasts) so it sounds like you are pumping enough.

http://www.kellymom.com/bf/pumping/p..._decrease.html
    http://www.kellymom.com/bf/pumping/milkcalc.html
    Baby Girl "Piper" born Feb 12th, 2010. She is a true blessing!

And a baby who is now an Angel in Heaven Feb 7th, 2008.

thank you so much. ive looked online i dont know how many times to see if it was a normal amount and was never able to find anything. Thank you!!!!

If you are exclusively pumping, your LO should be getting 24-30 oz. in a 24-hour period to maintain good growth. (This assumes a healthy term infant, I don't know if the requirements are different for a premature baby - definitely ask the pediatrician and/or a lactation consultant what baby's intake should be at this point).