Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: PUMPING and HURTING BAD!!!!! PLEASE HELP!!!!!

Default PUMPING and HURTING BAD!!!!! PLEASE HELP!!!!!

Im exclusively pumping and my supply is dropped tremendously the past few days! I discovered a crack or something at the base of my nipple and it is extremely painful to pump on that breast. Ive thought about stopping pumping on that side but if I go without pumping that side (even on the LOWEST possible setting) I get lumps! I really dont want to stop pumping to give my son the best but...... It hurts soooo bad and I dont know what to do as this is my first time to try this pumping venture. Any advise or suggestions would be soooo great right now. Been using Lansinoh before every pumping session because that makes it not AS painful but its still pretty excruciating! PLEASE PLEASE someone tell me youve been there and HELP! Im soooo close to just giving up......

Default Re: PUMPING and HURTING BAD!!!!! PLEASE HELP!!!!!

How old is your baby? Is there any way that you can get him to the breast instead of pumping?
    Penthouse

Mama to
    DS1 (9 years old...nursed for 7 months - how I wish this forum had been around back then!)
    DS2 (after nursing for a tad over two years, I *think* we are done )

mama. So sorry you're in pain. Can you vary the suction? Does that help? Also, after each session, can you let your nipple airdry with some breastmilk on the cracks? That was what worked for me with DD1 and the pump. What kind of pump are you using?

Mama to my little Diva: Miss K (7/15/06)
    And her little sister: Lulu Pie (3/21/09)

"Don't toush da mango"
    One-handed typer Extraordinaire!
    My body creates, houses, nurtures and nourishes life. That is awesome.
    Kegel Kop says: TIGHTEN UP!

Quote Originally Posted by @llli*mothersky View Post