Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Which pump

Default Which pump

1) I am looking into pumps since I will need to return to work in about 2 months. I'm looking at a couple Medela's and wanted to know what other's feel about them.

Medela InStyle Advanced or Medela Freestyle Hands-free breast pumps

I'm wondering... do I really need to pay the extra money for the hands-free option? Is this something I would actually use? Thanks for your input!

2) I am wondering what kind of supply I need to build up before I go back to work. I'm a teacher and need to go to work at the end of March and work through May. I'm a little concerned because I don't really like my job at all; it's quite stressful. I'm worried about my supply dwindling already. So how much do I need to have stocked in the freezer? My DD will be 3 months when I go back.
    Last edited by @llli*mesamomma; January 22nd, 2010 at 07:58 PM.

Default Re: Which pump

I have the freestyle not for the hands free option, but for the portability and battery power. Awesome.

I got mine for $270 at www.bestbuybaby.com which is the price of the PISA at babies r us.

For hands free set up an easy expressions hands free bustier is the way to go.

My goal was 100 oz in the freezer before I returned to work. I made 105 oz frozen when I started back when my daughter was 8 weeks old. That really allowed me some cushion for the bad pumping days. She's 2 and 2 months now and for the last 7 months I've been giving her milk from my frozen supply. She self-weaned when I went dry from getting pregnant again. I found the best way to build up my storage was letting her nurse on one side while I pumped the other. It really helped my letdown and production. I just alternated which side she nursed from. Hope this helps. I used the Pump In Style as Freestyle wasn't around then. It took me 30 minutes at work to pump 4 oz. I'm trying to figure out what would be a more efficient pump!