Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: URGENT: No letdown?!

Default URGENT: No letdown?!

I desperately need some help from any veteran pumpers out there pls. I have been pumping exclusively for nearly 5 months without a problem but as of yesterday I can barley get a letdown. I am getting very full and my baby, as ever, refuses to help the situation. I have tried replacing pump parts etc which I had on hand, but everything seems fine with the pump, same level of suction etc as always, I just can't get a letdown. I've tried massage, heat, thinking of baby........Is this something that can happen with an exclusive pumper at this stage? Oh man, this is going to be a very painful drying up if I can't get a letdown. Thanks for any advice.

Default Re: URGENT: No letdown?!

Have you tried breast compressions?
    Tracie

Mommy to
    Lilah 10/08 nursed 25 months
    Beatrix 01/11 nursed 30 months

Moisture- pumping in the bath or with the shower running- might help. A glass of wine might help, too. In a pinch, I've read about women who ask their partner's help in getting the milk out when the baby was unwilling/unavailable. You also might want to try a totally different pump- I've read that people can become accustomed to a pump and then not let down for it as well.

Good luck! I hope you can relieve the pressure soon!
    Coolest thing my big girl said recently: "How can you tell the world is moving when you are standing on it?"
    Coolest thing my little girl sang recently: "I love dat one-two pupples!"