Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Nursing my 2.5 y.o. son

Default Nursing my 2.5 y.o. son

Hi all,

I'm a newbie here, though I have checked LLLI many times. I have a 2.5 y.o. beautiful son, Liam, and planned to BF him till he was 1. I went back to work when he was 3 mos old, while his dad stayed home to take care of him (not my choice). I pumped 3x per day at work until he was 12 mos old, when I changed careers and we moved to northern CO. Liam and I simply continued nursing.. and when he was 18 mos, his dad (a very controlling person) "told" me I had to stop nursing Liam, that I was only doing it to "keep Liam a baby".... he said it was holding Liam back. Long story short, I started weaning Liam, but he still really wanted to nurse. The relationship of his dad and I started to really go downhill, and Liam wanted to nurse even more (I assume for the comfort of it, because things were so tense in the house). We started nursing in his closet so his dad wouldn't find out. His dad left me this past summer in part due to Liam still nursing, and has publicly (in court) stated that I am "psychologically damaging" Liam (not), and has asked me if I "get off" when nursing him.

I am simply looking for the support of other mothers who are nursing their children past what America seems to think is an "appropriate" age! I have no problem nursing Liam, though I definitely do think twice when it comes to doing it in public, & wish I didn't feel that way.

Thoughts?

Hekelamac

Default Re: Nursing my 2.5 y.o. son

I nurse my 2 year old as well although my DH is supportive (due in part to him getting out of child care duties ) my extended family is occasionally ignorant on the subject.

Have you check out past threads in the Lactivism" portion? There may be some support and info for you reqarding your lame XH!

Keep it up mama!