Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Sore/Cranky and Feeling Sad

Default Sore/Cranky and Feeling Sad

Hi! I am totally new at breastfeeding. My baby is heading into his 6th day. He is exclusively breastfed.
    As I had a midwife birth, he was placed on my chest immediately following birth for 1.5 hrs. And within minutes of birth, he was latched and feeding.

Now, I seem to be having problems. I have a really sore left breast. There was a latch that went awry so I had days of nipple soreness. Now, it seems to hurt ALL the time. My midwife told me that it may take some time to finish healing. She has looked at his latch and when shes around we can get him to take it correctly, but when I am alone he slips off a proper latch. even when he has a proper latch it does hurt. I can feel the milk coming out. And it has a hot burning drawn out sensation.

He seems to be getting frustrated, as he is reluctant to take that breast now. I think perhaps my pain response, while I try to subdue, is discouraging him from wanting that breast. That breast is also obviously not receiving as much milk in as the other.

My husband tries to help me get latched, set up etc. But I find I get upset, frustrated and have to take a time out. Its defintely developing into a bad situation that I don't want to subject my Baby to, nor my well meaning husband.

I am feeling as though I am totally failing at this. Our baby is having ALOT of poo/pees and has surpassed his birth weight by 2ozs, so theres no worries there.

Today is our first day of not having to wake to feed him or keep him on the schedule, as he has met his birth weight + some. I find it freeing and would really like to see our breastfeeding sessions to be more intimate and about developing our nuturing relationship. Something that happens while he's on the other breast, but not this one!

Also, I seem to struggle with any positions other then the sidelying. I am most comfortable then, as does it seem Baby is. Is this ok?