Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: nursing thru biopsy

Default nursing thru biopsy

This is my first time to post here. I have a 14 mo. old nursling and have no plans to wean. I had a mammogram yesterday and the doctor wants to do a biopsy on one breast. She said it's nothing to panic about but I'm very high risk so they want to be certain. She suggested they schedule for one month from now so I have time to wean. I pushed for more information re. why I would have to wean and the two answers I received were so images would be clearer (for additional ultrasounds and mammograms, I assume) and to reduce risk of infection re. the biopsy.

I'd like to continue to nurse as 1) I'm actually not worried about what showed up on the mammogram and don't think it's going to actually be anything of concern (how's that for a positive attitude!) and 2) this isn't how I imagined our nursing relationship to end.

So, I am looking for come actual 'evidence' I can present to the doctor/hospital in support of nursing before, after, etc. a needle biopsy.

Thanks!

Default Re: nursing thru biopsy

do you have a local LLL leader? She can help you find more info.

I know there's a mama here who had a biopsy (or two?) while nursing--I bet she'll be along soon!

what kind of biopsy do they want to do?

I had 2 rounds of sterotactic needle biopsy - just did a local at the biopsy site.

I pumped before the procedure and I need to look at my notes .. but am pretty sure that I was told that by the time the lidocaine wore off I'd be okay to nurse again.

If you're having a surgical procedure then its a little more complicated because anesthesia is involved, but that often involves just doing pump-and-dump one time.

Get as much info as possible about the type of biopsy and EVERY medication they plan to use!
    Lynn
    DS1: bf 7/2006 -> 4/2009; multiple food allergies
    DS2: bf 9/2009 -> ???
    ; multiple food allergies