Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: pumping at work only 1x in 8hr

Default pumping at work only 1x in 8hr

I am a nurse on a busy unit and only have time to eat and pump once a day. I do try to go back more often... but it seems impossible most times. Thankfully I work part time. But I am worried that I may have to start supplementing with formula. DD takes about 9-10 oz while I'm at work. She is 9months and eats solids 3x a day. She nurses at least once a night... mostly for comfort but after I work it is due to hunger. Any suggestions??? Can I just pump for 5 mins to get another session in?? I only have one more bag of BM in freezer, so I rely on pumping up to my day. I only get 3-4ozs a pumping session. This morning only 1 oz!!

Default Re: pumping at work only 1x in 8hr

If you can get that other 5min session in at work it's better than nothing. I get most of my milk on that initial letdown anyway. I also, pump at home whenever I can. I block feed at night and pump the "unused" side in the morning before work. You might also pump about an hour after your LO goes to bed at night.

Jennifer
    Amazed and Proud mom of Luke (Lucas) - 4/5/2006; 9 lbs 12 oz , 22in
    Wife to best friend Carl - 11/4/2001

Smile Re: pumping at work only 1x in 8hr

Thanks, I have tried pumping before going to bed about 1-2 hours after DD goes to sleep. I usually only get about 1 oz. If I continue after a few days will I see more at this pumping??? She usually nurses like crazy before she goes to bed. Thanks again for the support.