Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: bottle weaning

Default bottle weaning

My DD is turning one at the end of this month. I'm not ready to wean her yet and she's not ready either, but I'm wondering about when and how to get rid of bottles. I have zero child-rearing experience (I never even babysat before I had DD) so I don't know normal timeframes of anything to reference. I'm not sure how or when to phase out the bottles.

We nurse at least 3 times daily every day (morning, noon, early evening) and then more often on days when I'm off work. I have no problem at all with this part of our relationship. She sleeps through the night and usually I only have to nurse her back to sleep in rare instances. But during the days when I'm at work the babysitter gives her a bottle in the morning, we nurse at lunch, then Granny gives an afternoon bottle. She also gets a bottle right before bed (she doesn't sleep with it, takes the BM then we try and "brush" her teeth which sometimes works, sometimes not). We usually take a bottle with us when we go out, just in case we need it (I'm not brave enough to nurse in public).

She takes water out of a sippy cup but she's not great at it. She LOVES drinking out of a regular cup. She doesn't eat a lot of solids right now (cheerios and bread are her main stays, most everything else ends up on the floor).

So I guess my main question is when and how to get rid of the bottles. Should I not worry about it right now? What is the appropriate time to transition away from bottles? Should I wait until we're better at eating solids and using cups? If my questions don't make sense, let me know and I'll try and clarify.

Thanks!

Default Re: bottle weaning

1 is still very young.
    Does your dd have a high sucking need? Does she like her bottles?
    Your doing the right things by brushing her teeth after the bottles.