Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Pumping problem

Default Pumping problem

Hi! I'm a newbie in this forum and I hope I could seek some guidance from this community.

First of all, I'm a first time mom to my DS who's currently 5 mo. old. He weighs 15lbs and has been EBF since birth.

I've started pumping since DS turned a month. For the first 4 months of pumping, my milk supply has been pretty adequate on my right breast. Let down was fast and I could get an ave of 4-5 oz on the right breast alone. On the other end, the left breast seems a bit "slow" on milk supply as well as milk ejection while pumping. So what I do is let DS take the left breast most of the time and leave the right breast for pumping.

All seems to work fine and i was able to sustain my milk supply for 3-4 months.

when DS turned 4.5 months, I was ecstatic to notice that the slower left breast has finally picked up and was able to produce and eject more milk than usual (both Direct BF and pumping). The bummer is, the right breast which is the main source of most of my milk supply suddenly turn low. I could feel my breast is full and DS is clearly gulping milk on both sides of breasts whenever I directly BF. However when I pump, I can only pump 2-3 oz at a time and I have to spend more than an hour to get that amount of milk! One thing I noticed is, let down seems so difficult... and when I don't have a let down... there's only 1 stream flowing on my nipple... and a faint stream! Whereas before, even without letdown, at least I have 3-5 streams of milk flowing out of my nipple.