Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Problems!!!

Default Problems!!!

Further to my post from July, I had just about been maintaining supply while ep'ing.

Until this week.

My LO is now 6 months old, I have been menstruating regularly for the last 4 months and am on no medication other than Sertraline (anti depressants) for PPD. I am not on birth control and am definitely NOT preg.

My issue is that I am now on the XXL medela breastshileds (36mm), am taking all the herbs I can cram down my throat, drinking heaps and eating all the right things and still my supply has crashed from 1100ml per day down to 800ml. It is taking 7 hours over the whole day to get this 800ml which is biting into looking after my LO and getting enough rest, etc. I am making sure I pump at midnight and 3am to maximise the whole hormone/stimulation thing but this is not actually making a difference to output - ie it is still going down!

My breasts are painful and am now getting vasospasm of the nipples (they turn white and hard after pumping) because of the amount of trauma they are suffering. Contact with my LO is not a problem as I am a SAHM so I can be with him when pumping, and get lots of cuddles in through the day. We are also co sleeping now but this does not help with the supply.

I have continued to try to put LO to the breast but I cannot get him to latch so nursing to improve supply is not an option.

I am not getting a proper let down I know that - all I get is drips not a spurt and this is right the way through each pumping session.

Should I simply accept that I am not going to be able to provide a realistic amount of bm for my LO and hug myself for persevering this long or is there anything I am missing?

All advice gratefully received

Default Re: Problems!!!

Wow, Mama- you've been working SO HARD and we all admire what you've achieved.

It sounds like you are doing all the right things. Just a few things you might want to consider: