Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Sudden supply loss at 10 months - due to illness?

Default Sudden supply loss at 10 months - due to illness?

I have been nursing my daughter for ten months. She was exclusively breastfed until about 9 months, when we introduced table foods. She was wetting 6-7 diapers a day and is now down to 3-4 for the past two weeks. She tends to have a BM 1/day but is now at 1/3 days.

Two weeks ago she and I both got the flu and ever since my supply has seemed to diminish to nearly nothing. The doctor said she has no signs of dehydtration, so to just put her to the breast more often, but it isn't picking up.

Also, she refuses any other kind of fluid (water, juice, etc.) and won't take a bottle OR a cup of any sort. We've tried straws, droppers, syringes, you name it. The only way I can get extra fluid into her is ice cubes, but it's certainly not enough to increase her output that much. I've added a 15 minute doublepumping session after each feed, but am starting to wonder if it's just too late to get my supply back up.

I had wanted to extend nursing beyond a year, but at this point my main concern is simply getting her enough fluids to stay hydrated and on track with development.

Could the supply loss be due to illness? At ten months is there any way to get it back? I'm at a loss for what to do at this point, but 3-4 wets a day for almost two weeks now is worrying me. Thanks for your help/support.

Default Re: Sudden supply loss at 10 months - due to illness?

Is her 'lack' of diapers the only sign you have of your supply being low?

As they get older their bladder (and bowel) change and start to work more 'efficiently" ( e.g. not eliminating what's in it right when it gets in there) and so they can 'hold' it a little longer.

If she is growing well and happy and healthy, bright eyes and sweet as usual (and you're doc isn't concerned) I'd just keep an eye on it and feel secure in knowing her body is changing - maturing.