Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: When to pump?

Default When to pump?

I'm a teacher and I have been pumping at calendar time while my para does the calandar at 10:00am and at planning at 1:00pm. This is every three hours. (I breastfeed at 7:00am and at 4:00pm) This has become overwhelming. When I pump the 1st time I get anywhere from 6 to 10 ounces and the second time I get anywhere from 4 to 6 ounces. I only need two 4 ounce bottles. Can I just pump once a day??? Oh yeah this is going on the 4th week of work.
    1st Time Mommy to Baby Boy born 4-20-09
    since day one!
    Finally done !!!
    There are three reasons for breast-feeding: the milk is always at the right temperature; it comes in attractive containers; and the cat can't get it. ~Irena Chalmers

Default Re: When to pump?

I don't see why not? Is it overwhelming just because you have so much milk? Or because you don't want to pump twice? You could always donate the extra milk.
    Tracie

Mommy to
    Lilah 10/08 nursed 25 months
    Beatrix 01/11 nursed 30 months

Quote Originally Posted by @llli*mommy2lilah View Post
    I don't see why not? Is it overwhelming just because you have so much milk? Or because you don't want to pump twice? You could always donate the extra milk.
    Just because I have to pump twice. My boss doesn't know that I am pumping and I think he would make me stop. I just am a little afraid of getting caught. I have checked out the laws in Ga. The laws state that a mother can pump as long as it doesnt interfer with work. My boss would probably say it interfers. I would die if I couldnt pump. I dont want to use formula.
    since day one!
    Finally done !!!
    There are three reasons for breast-feeding: the milk is always at the right temperature; it comes in attractive containers; and the cat can't get it. ~Irena Chalmers