Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: H1N1 flu advice for bf moms?

Default H1N1 flu advice for bf moms?

I just came across this advice:

"Breastfeeding mothers with swine flu symptoms should express their breast milk, and the child should be fed by someone else. "

From this website: http://www.webmd.com/cold-and-flu/fl...u-faq-1?page=4

What?!?!!!?? I am confused. Is Webmd not reputable and that is why they advise this? (I'm not very tech savvy)

I think this is terrible advice! What do you mamas think? Anyone had the flu or H1N1 this year? Did you still nurse through it?

I am totally freaking out about the flu season this year b/c I have a middle school son, a high school daughter and an in home daycare. I have been reading up on what to look for, how to respond etc. Would like everyone's opinion on this b/c I trust all you LLL mommas!

TIA!
    Jen - mom to 3
    DD who I FF
    I survived 10 painful mastitis infections and managed to nurse DS1 till he was 3 years and 7 months
    and now DS2 4 years now working on gentle weaning and

"Pride is one of the seven deadly sins; but it can not be the pride of a mother in her children, for that is a compound of two cardinal virtues - faith and hope." Charles Dickens

Default Re: H1N1 flu advice for bf moms?

That makes no sense. I don't see why it would be different than any other flu in that regard. You aren't advised to not feed your child when you are sick with other flus. On the contrary you should continue to nurse because you are giving your child antibodies to what you've been exposed to.
    “We are not put on earth for ourselves, but are placed here for each other. If you are there always for others, then in time of need, someone will be there for you.”
    --Anonymous

Quote Originally Posted by @llli*norasmommy View Post