Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Switching to electric pump - will my supply mess up

Default Switching to electric pump - will my supply mess up

I have a manual medela breast pump that I have been using now for 2 months and I love it. I love how much milk it takes out (3 ounces per boob)during feedings.. I have not liked the length that it takes and always wished I had spurlged the extra 50 bucks to get the electronic one..

So my best friend is giving me her electronic medela pump (the 80 dollar one) It does one boob at a time.. Same thing I have just it is electric..

So my question is - will my supply mess up for the first few days while my boob gets use to the electric one..Will I get the same amount of milk or will I get less....

I pump once a day to build up my freezer stash so that when I go back to work I have enough milk.

Once I do go back to work I plan to buy the handsfree medela...thank you

Thank you ladies..

Default Re: Switching to electric pump - will my supply mess up

I think your supply will do fine with going from manual to electric.
    I've used my electric most of the time, but the few times when I was exclusively pumping, my hand pumped the same amount out. Now I've haven't used the hand pump since December, but when I tried it last month, I got nothing but a few drops out, but do well with my electric.
    Missy MooCow
    - Mom to DS 03/2003 & DD 07/2008
    - - Ex-Exclusive pumper
    - - Yeah!! Full time nurser since December!!

Quote Originally Posted by @llli*missy.moocow View Post
    I think your supply will do fine with going from manual to electric.
    I've used my electric most of the time, but the few times when I was exclusively pumping, my hand pumped the same amount out. Now I've haven't used the hand pump since December, but when I tried it last month, I got nothing but a few drops out, but do well with my electric.