Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Screaming while "nursing"

Default Screaming while "nursing"

My son is 4 days old and sometimes when it is time for him to nurse he will start to latch take like two sucks and scream. We do this over and over for like 30 minutes to 2 hours. I thought maybe I had too much milk because that is a problem for me so I pumped and then tried to nurse. It didn't help I don't know if I need to pump more or if I'm not doing something right. I know we get it right sometimes because other times he will latch right on and actively nurse for 15 to 30 minutes without letting go. I'm pretty new to this, while this is my second I only got to nurse my first for 9 days before I became too sick to carry on. HELP! please?! I haven't been able to find a lactation consultant near me and the nearest LLL is almost an hour away.

thanks for any suggestions
    Lacey~

Default Re: Screaming while "nursing"

I had that problem too for about a week. When my milk finally came in, I found that I have a forceful letdown and my poor little baby could not keep up. He got so mad! As he grew, so did his mouth and his ability to control it better.
    There are a lot of reasons why that could be happening. It could be the latch and he is just not positioned right. I went from the cradle hold to the football hold and he seemed to do a lot better that way.

Good Luck! It does get better, I promise!

Hi there
    I'm sorry you're having some struggles! Congratulations on your new baby

Just a couple of questions:

--When do you nurse him? Do you wait until he cries to be fed? Crying is a late hunger cue (earlier cues are rooting, sucking on fists, rapid eye movement). Sometimes if they cry from hunger, they get frantic and frustrated and it can make latch on very difficult.

--Any bottles or pacifiers? Bottles especially can cause problems this early--they "let down" immediately, whereas baby has to suck a bit at the breast to stimulate a letdown.

HTH!
    Jen