Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: My 2 year old doesn't want my milk

Unhappy My 2 year old doesn't want my milk

Hello ladies,

I have a couple questions, and I'm not sure if this is the right forum or not, but here goes anyway.

I have been pumping for my 2 year old ds for about 3 months now (my younger ds is almost 4mo). I have changed up my pumping schedule a few times, because my supply hasn't been staying consistent. Sometimes when I wake up early morning for ds' feeding, I'm EXTREMELY full, so I feed him, then go pump both breasts, and that'll be enough for my older ds for the day (he's been drinking about 12oz. per day). Other times, I can easily go all night without pumping, and struggle to get 6oz. when we get up in the morning. So, my first question is, why is my supply still all over the place?? Just when I think that it's evened out, suddenly I can't sleep through the night again without waking up engorged. I'd like to be able to consistently get enough for my older ds as well (but without "taking away" from ds2, of course), but that just doesn't happen. I was trying to pump at the same time every day, so that's what my body would expect and I'd be able to get enough all the time. But it didn't seem to be working... And advice on this issue?

My second question is, suddenly my older ds is rejecting my milk all together. I'm assuming it's ALL milk (I think he has a lactose intolerance issue--the last time he drank cow's milk, he had serious diarrhea) that he doesn't want. He drinks a lot of water, and only gets about 4oz of fruit juice a day (if that). But I'm concerned about him getting enough calcium, plus all the other good stuff that my milk provides him (he is a very picky eater--and I'm afraid he's lacking in good nutrients). I end up dumping out my milk quite often with him, which is heartbreaking. Any ideas on how to get him to drink it?

TIA!!
    Punky
    Mommy to L - May 7, 07' , B - February 7, 09' , and R - August 18, 12'