Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: DHA Supplements?

kristenco is offline Shares Widely And Frequently

Default DHA Supplements?

When I was at my 6-week post-partum check-up, I picked up a free sample of Enfamil's DHA supplements. Very clever of Enfamil! Now they can tap into BOTH markets! I was wondering if anyone else is taking a DHA supplement, and whether it's necessary for someone like me who doesn't eat a lot of fish. Also, any idea where I would pick it up at the store? With the Enfamil formula, or with the vitamins and supplements?

Default Re: DHA Supplements?

Here are a couple of links about this subject:
    http://www.lalecheleague.org/llleade...Nov98p102.html

http://www.kellymom.com/nutrition/vi...HA-mother.html

I have read through the materials and this issue is not clear at all. DHA is obviously important, but it's ironic that formulas started adding it to mimic the DHA levels in breastmilk!! I am NOT a scientist or dietician, but if the mother's body can manufacture DHA out of ALA (alpha-linoleic acid)/Omega-3 fatty acids, why should we be taking DHA supplements instead of eating more Omega-3s? And why do we think that our milk is deficient all of a sudden?
    By the way, Omega-3's are not just in fish, but also in flax, canola, and soy oils.
    Linda or someone knowledgeable, please help!!!
    Here's my conspiracy theory: The formula companies started adding DHA and ARA to formula to try and make it more like breastmilk, or at least so they could say, "See, our advanced society has created a formula that is just as good as breastmilk. (talk-to-your-doctor-breast-is-best-but-look-how-cute-this-mom-is-feeding-her-baby-a-bottle-and-your-mother-in-law-wants-you-to-anyway)" Now they are trying to make breastmilk look INFERIOR by saying that breastfeeding moms have to take a DHA supplement to provide their babies with a nutrient that is already in formula.
    HELP!

Molly