Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What do you think about this co-worker?

Default What do you think about this co-worker?

Okay, so I have been working at this particular hospital for 2 yrs now. I've never had a problem everyone I work with is wonderful and I love my job. I have a 10 mth old daughter who I am continuing to nurse after many hurtles. I work 12 hour shifts, so, of course, I pump at work. Okay, so, when I get to work I carry my "pump" bag, my purse, and my lunch bag in with me. For those of you who work in hospitals you probably know the walk I make each time I come and go from work. It's not a short walk to say the least. Anyway, when I pump around 11 I store my milk in a storage bag labeled with my name, date, and amount. Sometimes I also have a little in a storage bottle as well labeled accordingly. I hide it behind condiment items that are on the door so it's not visible to others unless something is moved. I do this because, everyone shoves their lunch bags in the refrigerator and often my own lunch bag is folded, swished, etc. because of it and I don't want my milk to spill or leak. When I pump again at 5:30, I use my lunch bag to store all the milk I've pumped for the day and leave it in my locker until I leave. Okay, so I've been back to work for almost 7 mths now and just yesterday a supervisor called me and told me that I can't store my milk in there because "bodily fluids can't be mixed with their food." I simply said okay and immediately called the lactation consultant in the hospital for her advise. She, of course, didn't know of any policy stating that I couldn't store it there and referred me to an HR Consultant. The day goes on and I've just decided to deal with this tomorrow (today) since I have the day off. It wasn't very long and a fellow employee came up to me and asked if (we'll call her Bertha) Bertha said anything to me about my milk. I said yes and asked how she knew. Oh well, Ms. Bertha had a discu