Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: First day back at work went well.....

Default First day back at work went well.....

I'm soooo relieved. I had been dreading going back to work. I had so much anxiety about my son taking a bottle, pumping at work, nipple confusion, reverse cycling and so on. My SO stays home with our son and I was worried about him too. I work 12 hour shifts and that can make for a long day for a first time dad. He did so great with our son. I'm crossing my fingers things keep going so well.

Couple questions. I want to pump every three hours at work but I discovered yesturday that some times I'm so busy at work(I'm a paramedic) it might not be every 3 hours. Will my supply be affected if I don't pump on time? I'm also putting out an average of 4 oz. from both breasts every 3 hours, is that a good number?
    for over a year now!!!

Xavier 11/5/08

Default Re: First day back at work went well.....

Good Job! It is a hard transition. I have been back 3 months, but It still feels like yesterday I just came back.
    Sometimes I get too busy for every 3 hours as well, and can definitely see whay you would, but I just try to get as close as I can. Sometimes its 3 1/2 sometimes 4, but I always get them in. Its when you miss them all together that your supply can be affected. ( I am not an expert, but that is my understanding anyway)
    As far as the oz., I think 4 is good. Everyone is different & puts out diffferent amounts, but as long as you have enough for the bottles, you are in great shape. Good Luck!

good job mama! I would aim for every 3-4 hours, but a general rule is if you empty both breasts 8-12x per day at this stage then your supply will be fine.

Also 4 oz is great, many women only get 1-2 oz. I know how hard the battle is to keep up with what they eat, but you're doing very well.
    Mommy to Maxwell 10-9-07 weaned with love (a party and a remote control monster truck) on his 4th birthday
    My Boy 3-16-10