Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Use Microwave?

Default Use Microwave?

Mamas,

For those answered my last post... thank you! We tried everything we can think of for my little girl to take her bottles. So far no luck...

My 12 week old daughter began refusing to take bottles with expressed milk since she was 5 weeks old. I was recommended to taste my expressed milk... my husband and I made a discovery that the milk did not taste "sweet". It tasted bitter. I went back to work this month and pump a few times during working hours. However, I only have microwaves and no cooking stoves available to scalding the pumped milk. Could I use a microwave to do this? I would like to keep breastfeedig my daughter. Is this even possible?

Default Re: Use Microwave?

I'm new to this but one thing I've been consistantly told was to never put expressed milk in the microwave.
    for over a year now!!!

Xavier 11/5/08

How old is the expressed milk? Is it frozen or from the fridge? Have you done tests to see how long it stays sweet in the fridge before it changes to rancid?

Here is the link to the thread on scalding. Towards the bottom of the 1st page there is a post that advises to not use the microwave. But in other posts in that same thread others say they do use the microwave. Some moms use a bottle warmer instead of stove. There are some instructions on how some moms used a bottle warmer a few pages into that thread.
    Missy MooCow
    - Mom to DS 03/2003 & DD 07/2008
    - - Ex-Exclusive pumper
    - - Yeah!! Full time nurser since December!!

Quote Originally Posted by @llli*kennedysmom View Post
    Mamas,

For those answered my last post... thank you! We tried everything we can think of for my little girl to take her bottles. So far no luck...