Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Frenzied nursing at night

Default Frenzied nursing at night

Hello ladies, this is my first time posting as I usually just lurk and get advice from everyone and it's been very helpful so far. You all are wondeful! I am having an issue with my son. He's 14 months old and I work full time during the day Monday thru Friday so he only nurses in the morning, evening and night during the week and then whenever he wants on the weekends. The problem I'm having is that he nurses every hour at night and it's driving me NUTS! He used to do that when he was an infant and I figured that was nornal since he wasnt eating any solids or anything but at this point, he eats very well during the day and he eats what I cook for dinner and it's a pretty good amount of food at that! He's pretty tiny for his age and the dr said he's right on target for his height as far as weight is concerned and doesnt feel he isnt getting enough to eat. I dont think he's hungry at night, he just cant get himself back to sleep without nursing. He's addicted to boobies! I really enjoy BF and I want to let him self wean but my DH told me this morning that maybe we should seriously consider weaning him now so that we can all get a good night sleep. I really dont want to wean him just yet. My goal for him is 2 since I nursed my DD to this point and stopped due to her biting me too much. But DS is wonderful at BF, aside from waking during the night. I've tried to rock him or sing to him and even give him a pacifier (he takes this during the day while I'm at work for nap time) but he gets so upset and just ends up waking fully which makes me have to nurse him just to get a few hours of rest for myself for work. I'm frustrated at this point and really at a loss of what to do. Please if any of you have experienced this or have any suggestions, I am completely open to any and everything! Thanks so much for reading and sorry for such a long post!