Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: I'm So confused Please someone respond!!!

Default I'm So confused Please someone respond!!!

Hi,
    I am new to breastfeeding. I am due in about 8 weeks. I have been reading so many books and looking at so much information that i am confused about how to breastfeed. Here are my questions???
    How often do i breast feed?
    How will i know when baby is wanting to feed because when baby is first born it does nothing but sleep and poop and eat. But from my other children they slept alot and most of the time they would not wake up to feed. Several time i would wake them up and feed them. My other children were not breastfeed. One book says that the baby will feed about ever hour for about 10-15 mins on each breast. But what do i do if baby does not wake up for 2 or 3 hours. Do i wake him up and feed him?
    How long on each breast for each feeding?
    Is it ok to freeze milk in little 4 oz bottles?
    I am sorry but I don't want to lose my milk supply when i does come in i was to make sure i am doing this right. I was reading in a book that the more i breastfeed the more supply i will have.

Default Re: I'm So confused Please someone respond!!!

Ooh you're going to be just fine! I was online and wanted to reply since your post seemed urgent. All of your questions were normal and there are going to be so many helpful people around you after baby arrives. *hug* The nurses and lac. consultants will all help you get off to a good start with nursing. We all went through a first time, right? I did it about 5 months ago. I did just what you're doing: reading, talking to people, and asking good questions. It'll all be fine.

I'll take a stab at a few questions but as you can see I've not been a member here very long. The LLL leaders on here are great!