Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Won't open his mouth

Default Won't open his mouth

I have a friend who just had her baby, and her baby won't open his mouth to eat! Her nipples are getting pretty sore, and I'd love to pass on a list of things for her to try. Any ideas? Tips? Websites to take a look at?

p.s. she feeds based on feeding cues, and he roots like crazy then clams up. Hope that helps!
    Last edited by @llli*fairydust159; November 18th, 2008 at 01:28 AM. Reason: accidentally posted early, hadn't finished typing

Default Re: Won't open his mouth

Is he not opening his mouth at all, or just not wide enough? Is he getting too hungry before she offers the breast? How old is he?

I'm no expert, but if this is a newborn baby who is not managing to feed at all, your friend should call a doctor or lactation consultant. I did some research for you and from what I read, sometimes a newborn baby's jaw can be misaligned from the birth and this can interfere with mouth opening.

I also read that showing him what you want him to do can be helpful, like opening your mouth really wide and making aaaaww sounds. Apparently even tiny babies tend to copy.

My son didn't use to open his mouth wide enough and a lactation consultant showed me the trick of stroking downward on the tip of his nose with my nipple. This made him instinctively open his mouth, but I had to put the nipple in quick before he closed it again. Another tip I've read is to gently push down on the baby's lower lip or stroke the lower lip with a clean index finger.

I copied the following tips off allexperts.com:

Here are a few ideas to help a mom who is struggling with a baby not opening wide enough:

1. For any latch on problems, I definitely recommend a lactation consult. You can go to ilca.com for a list of consultants in your area.