Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Oh so tired!

Cool Oh so tired!

I have been BFing now for 5 months (and hope to continue) but i am finding myself very very tired these days. A friend told me that breastfeeding drains you of a lot of your energy. No matter how much rest i get i am still exhausted. I have a stye on my eye and i feel as if i have aged 20 years!! Was just wondering if anyone else feels like this and also if anyone can recommend any good vitamins to take to give me a bit of a boost.
    mummy to Izzy 2 yrs (BF 14 months)

Mummy to Rosa 5 months (BFing)
    Mummy to Freddie 5 months (Bfing)

Default Re: Oh so tired!

The vitamins you took while pregnant are fine to use. Also try to snack instead of doing 3 full meals. I found that more lighter meals work much better for my engery levels, salads, smoothies, cheese & crackers, plus my normal meals during the day. Great job on 5 months of bfing so far!!
    Joyce May 5th 1998
    Natthaniel Nov 16th 1999
    Abbigale expected July 2nd 2008

I had that problem with both LO's, but with my first I felt that the worst. I don't think I was taking care of myself as well as I did when DS was born. Keep up with your prenatals, first and foremost. They really do help out. What also helped me was drinking plenty of water, eating oatmeal and fresh spinach salads everyday, and try making yourself a healthy, fresh yogurt smoothie (like blueberries - the ultimate brain food). These would really give me a boost.

Hang in there!! You are doing great!
    Our blessings from God!
    Kylee was born September, 2006 - 9 lbs. 12 1/2 oz, 21 inches long.
    Kiefer was born January, 2008 - 6 lbs. 14 oz, 19 1/2 inches long.
    He was diagnosed with a severe peanut allergy at 12 1/2 months old. Others later discovered.
    And I am even more blessed by being married to my best friend and the most honorable man I've ever known.

"The hand that rocks the cradle rules the world." - Abraham Lincoln