Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: How much milk to leave for ~1yo?

Default How much milk to leave for ~1yo?

Hello, ladies!

I'm a teacher, and will be going back to school the last week of this month. I work 3 days a week, and my daughter goes to a home daycare nearby while I'm at school. I drop her off around 7:15 and pick her up around 3:15.

At the end of last school year, I was leaving four 4-oz bottles for her while I was gone. She would nurse 2x before we left the house, then have a bottle about 45 minutes after I left her. Then another around lunchtime, and one in the afternoon. I think she probably could have skipped the pm bottle, since sometimes she was still finishing it when I picked her up. The fourth bottle was pretty much a backup - just in case she was really hungry.

She was barely 9 months old when school ended in June. She'll be almost a year when I go back. I'm sure her needs are very different!

How much milk should I leave for her? She is eating solids, and will eat anything I let her have. Will she start eating more like a toddler now? Should she get some cow milk? I have no idea how this works! I don't have whole lot of info from our LLL group, as most of the moms are SAH, and those who work have babies younger or have on-site daycare and can nurse during the day!

Any advice, please?

Default Re: How much milk to leave for ~1yo?

Hi,

Your baby is just a couple of weeks older than mine. While I can't predict what next month will be like, I can tell you what DS is eating at daycare now. He'll drink 2 4-oz bottles, have a jar of solid food, and have some cereal (we just use the packets) mixed with 2-3 oz of breastmilk. Yesterday he also enjoyed a nice snack of veggie booty. We are apart 10-11 hours.

At 1 year I plan to start mixing cow's milk with breastmilk for him and not pump anymore. He'll probably be eating larger solid food meals then too.

I hope that helps!