Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Going to work first time pumping

Default Going to work first time pumping

I have a unique situation and even though this is my 3rd child this is my first time pumping and bottle feeding. My daughter now 6 and I got thrush at 4 months and it went undiagnosed and the extreme pain was more than I could handle....I was told it was normal nipple pain, so I gave up BF'ing and felt like a failure when after redaing an article discovered what we had was thrush.......my dear son now just 2 (last thursday) was Bfed until 4 months when my appendix ruptured, and I walked around that way for almost 36 hours.....was in hosp for 12 days and on over 1800 mg of antibiotics for 6 weeks and had an open wound that dear hubby took care of at home for 3 months . Dr's made me quit BF'ing in hosp. as one of the antibiotics I was on caused brain defects in infant lab mice...... soooo with that background I REALLLLLLLY want this baby to be BF'd till at least a year!!!!!!!!!!

I have to go to work for 2 days, it will be a 6:30 - 4 job I will get to go home at 1:30 to 2:30 for lunch. My youngest is 6 weeks old will be 7 weeks on thursday. I have to work on Mon. and Tues. I am so afraid my son will reject me after having a bottle. Is there a way to minimize this, how much shoudl I pump before I go. I am so afraid he will like the bottle better than me. HELP

Default Re: Going to work first time pumping

re pumping--a general rule of thumb is to pump about an ounce for every hour you will be gone; i've also heard bb's daily milk intake should equal 2.5 ounces x babies weight. while you and bb are still adjusting i'd leave five or six 2 oz bottles. this way you can get an idea of how much milk bb will drink from each session and not worry about wasting milk.