Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Fussy 4 month old

Default Fussy 4 month old

Hi there,
    This is my first time writing in. I've been exclusively breastfeeding for 4 months and have enjoyed it. The past week, however, has been misreable. My daughter will not stay latched on for longer than a few minutes at a time, when she usually would stay on 20 min. each side if I let her! Her new total time of feeding is more like 20 min. She cries when she gets off, then I get her back on and she seems satisfied, then cries again. I hear a ton of milk when she's sucking, so I don't think it's a production issue. I'm at the point of giving her expressed breast milk for her feedings. I go back to work next week, and my hope was to do bottles of breast milk during the day and then nurse in the am and pm, but I don't know if I can take the breastfeeding anymore. Help, please!

Default Re: Fussy 4 month old

babies get more efficient over time. My son can empty one breast in about 5-7 minutes. Also this is the prime age for "distraction". This resource may help - Distractible Baby. Another possibility is teething.
    ~Jenn~

mother of 2 boys!
    08/14/98~~03/20/08

Birth: 7lbs 12oz, 1 year: 22lbs 11oz
    until he self-weaned 4 days before his third birthday ... still on occasion ... and happily

************************************************** ************************************************** *****************
    People need to understand that when they're deciding between breastmilk and formula, they're not deciding between Coke and Pepsi.... They're choosing between a live, pure substance and a dead substance made with the cheapest oils available. ~Chele Marmet