Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: small baby and dealing with criticism

Default small baby and dealing with criticism

My LO is 4 1/2 mos. but weighed 10 lbs, 6oz today at the drs. I didn't go to the appt b/c this was my first week back to work, I'm a teacher. My LO was 7 14 at birth, dropped to 7 3, and has been gaining consistently since then, although very little. She is an extremely active baby, continuously on the move, and can already roll over, make swimming motions, is trying to sit up, grapping everything, smiling, looking all around.

Apparently the dr says she's doing great on all her developmental milestones, but is beginning to get worried about her weight gain. He hasn't yet said anything about supplementing but wants us to make sure she takes in a minimum of 20 oz and come back in a month. If there is not sufficient weight gain, he will then run tests.

My problem is my DH and MIL. First of all my Latina MIL wants to start giving solids (which was hesitantly okayed by the dr). I'm against that for at least a month. Also, b/c you cannot tell how much milk a baby gets at the breast, they want me to exclusively pump and give bottles. I've been back at work and have already dipped into my freezer stash! I've told both of them that I can't get enough by pumping (I can get 2 oz each side first thing in the morning, but after that it's about 1 or 1.5 oz). When I said that I got looks that meant that I obviously don't have enough milk. I will pump more, for example pump one side while my DD eats on the other (something I need to do anyway as my freezer stash is half gone, DH put half of it in the fridge today while I was at work!).

Granted, I'm tired from going back to work and not getting enough sleep, but right now I just want to cry! I was getting pretty good support with breast feeding from my DH at least, but now he's not listening to me and is obsessed with counting each ounce our DD eats. Any advice?