Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Hi! Newbie here with a question

Default Hi! Newbie here with a question

My lo is now 4.5 months and he is taking in more than I am supplying. I have tried everything that I have read about increasing supply except the prescriptions meds. Anyway I am only about a few oz a day from where I need to be and I was wondering if renting a hospital grade pump would help me get out more milk. Right now I have a Medela PIS Advanced and I get usually 1oz per breast and that is if I pump every hour or if I wait and pump every 4 hours (while at work) I might get 1.5-2oz per breast, I have never had a good supply going but I keep trying. I am only able to pump while at work about every 4 hours and then at home I nurse and might pump every 2 and I nurse at night about 3 times and then first thing in the morning. I was reading on here that renting the hospital grade might help. Just wanted some input on this. Thanks

Default Re: Hi! Newbie here with a question

I have a hospital grade lactina select pump and love it. I do have better production then with the PIS. I just broke down and bought a new pump (they are spendy) but you can find used ones on ebay.

The rental fees here would have been like 60/month, and you can find them on ebay for anywhere between 350/400 so in the end if you are going to pump for a bit it is worth it.

Good luck!
    I'm Hillary
    Wife to Gualberto
    Mom to Nolan
    Born at 32 weeks-3lbs/10oz
    11-25-2007
    Our precious early angel

Remember, you are not managing an inconvenience; You are raising a human being ~ Kittie Frantz
    Unthinking respect for authority is the greatest enemy of truth ~ Albert Einstein
    First they ignore you, then they ridicule you, then they fight you, then you win ~ Mahatma Gandhi
    Looking for more information about vaccines?