Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: what are "mother's rooms" like?

Default what are "mother's rooms" like?

i have yet to even see the inside of the "mother's room" at work and have never been in one anywhere else. i'm assuming they are just rooms with some chairs... or is there usually anything else?

Default Re: what are "mother's rooms" like?

Probably changing table stations too ... nothing too glamorous.

Mama to Adeline Brett, breastfed for 4.5 years (12/14/05) and little Eliza June, new tiny sprite in my arms and still learning the ropes (7/18/10)

Family Blog • If I'm here I'm nursing and typing one handed ... forgive the typos!
    And I'm not a newbie at all ... I'm trying to get my old user ID working from back in the day ... paint-the-moon

There is one where I work. It is an office with a mini fridge, chairs, desks, and electrical outlets. There are also parenting magazines. There are 2-3 lactating moms using it. It's nice since I can keep my pump in the room instead of having to keep bringing it back to my desk. I also keep the sheilds and other parts in the fridge so I don't have to wash them (saves time).

Does your workplace have a mother's room?

It really varies.
    As the PP's have said, it can be anything from a room with a few chairs and an electrical outlet and possibly a baby-changing area to something with a fridge, a sink, curtained 'cubicles' for several people to pump in privacy, tables, magazines, a mirror and some hooks to hang clothing, even a (locked to the wall) hospital-grade pump that each woman can use with her own pump parts. I've worked pretty hard to get a fully-outfitted one of these rooms in the building I'm in for all the lactating moms....
    -Linda

Quote Originally Posted by jsmom
    It really varies.