Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Mother Having Health Issues

Smile Mother Having Health Issues

Hi All,

I have been breastfeeding my son for 9 1/2 months now but have been dealing with alot of symptoms which have been quite uncomfortable for a while and wanted to know if anyone else has had them and/or if they are related to breastfeeding at all. I have been waking up at night with frequent urination and hot flashes (this also occurs durng the day). In addition, I have had dizziness, motion sickness sometimes while in the car, excessive thrist, weight loss, and nervousness (among other things). Is this normal? I went to my OB/GYN a few weeks ago and she checked me for thyroid problems but everything appeared to be okay. She recommended trying birth control to regulate my hormones, but I did not want to take anything while breastfeeding unless I have to due to any side effects for the baby. Anyway, I am just trying to hang in here since I want to at least breastfeed until 12 months or longer. Any advice would be great. Thanks in advance!

Default Re: Mother Having Health Issues

i experienced some of those symptoms. i felt dizzy frequently, especially toward the end of the first year when i had no "reserves" of fat left! i always felt insanely thirsty, but just got used to it. nursing made my OCD worse, which i read is due to the body releasing more oxytocin. maybe that's what's causing your nervousness?
    to help with dizziness, i tried to eat an insanely healthy diet with no sugar and no simple carbs. it was easier said than done, but on days when i ate brown rice, tofu and spinach i felt 100% that on days when i ate a huge bowl of white noodles and a doughnut.
    Jean
    proud mama to ds, born 8/3/06, 11 lbs 14 oz, 24", now 35 lbs, 35", self-weaned at 20 months
    expecting baby boy #2 on 7/21/08, hoping for a VBAC

Did she check for other things, too? It certainly sounds like more is going on than simply the hormones of a lactating woman.