Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: would you go into temp debt to stay home with LO longer?

Default would you go into temp debt to stay home with LO longer?

So I am in the same position as many mothers. DD is almost 5 months and I'm running low on funds. I am a consultant so I've been able to pick up some work here and there which helps. Unfortunately, marrying DH and filing separately killed me in taxes, which will virtually wipe out my savings when I pay the tax bill.

Being a consultant, it's a feast or famine situation. If I sign up with an agency, I am locked in for 2 + long days per week, but am guaranteed x number of dollars for showing up and doing the work. Unfortunately, pumping would be almost impossible, as I get no paid breaks and have no privacy ( i.e. hospital, prison). I was told that as a contractor, I don't get the legal protections for pumping on the job. So, if I chose to that, I would probably hand express on the fly for only comfort.

Then there's the choice of continuing to do what I'm doing now- just taking what comes in from the community and not contract with an agency. I have complete control over my schedule, work in my own office, and can easily pump or just work a half day at a time. The down side is that I have no idea when I'll get a referral and never know for sure how much I am going to make. The hourly is better, but there is no consistent income

I've reduced expenses on my end- even let go of the hospital grade pump to use my old PISA! Still in maternity wear because I'm too cheap to buy clothes. Wearing the same pair of shoes day in and day out that hurt my feet the least. All I have bought for myself is nursing shirts and bras (boobs got 2 cup sizes bigger nursing )