Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ready to quit - so sad

Default ready to quit - so sad

I am struggling over this decision, but I can't keep going on with the pain. I had milk blisters, then huge clear blisters and now I have clogged ducts - all of them have happened over the last 2 weeks. Bfeeding has been one problem after another for me and DD.

I have been bfeeding for 3 months now and have had maybe a couple of weeks where I have felt no pain and like things were going well. I am so sad about this. I want to enjoy DD and I feel like I am just taking care of one nipple or breast ailment after another.

I am thinking about weaning her now (even though I don't want to) because I know how good bfeeding is for the baby. But, I just can't keep going like this.

I have seen a LC several times and try all of her tricks. I just don't know what else to do.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. thank you...

Default Re: ready to quit - so sad

I first want to tell you that this is absolutely correctable, but having limited details, I wouldn't be able to say exactly what the issue is. It could very well be a latch issue, which can be corrected.

Have you spoken with your local La League Leader or attended the LLL meetings yet? I know you said that you'd seen an LC, but you may be able to also be helped by a local LLL Leader.

Oh, I'm sorry you've had such a rough time lately. I went back to your previous posts to get a sense of the history here, and I was surprised to see that nobody responded to your post about the large clear blisters. How did that resolve?

The one thing I can think of that milk blebs, blisters, and clogged ducts all have in common is that they can be linked to poor latch. From what I understand, a milk bleb is sort of like a blocked duct right at the duct's opening on the nipple. A blister is most likely caused by friction or irritation. And a clogged duct might result from the breast not being drained evenly.