Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: just curious

Default just curious

My LO will be 9 mo's on sat and I plan to bf until she is at least 1 and go from there on where we both are before deciding on when to wean. I am just curious, will she let me know when she is ready or is this something I will have to do? Just trying to get info ahead of time. What is a good age for weaning? I have had lots of poeple start asking me when I was going to start doing this and I am more thinking now, that I am more worried on the how and not the when?
    Jen 30 ~ wife to Gary
    step-mom to 12 yo Hayden
    mommy to 1 yo Lilly

Goals:

We made it 1 YEAR!

My Lilly Bug is offically 1!

trying to quite but still

Loving & & ing

Default Re: just curious

I weaned my son at one primarily because he would not sleep through the night and I needed sleep, and pumping at work was becoming too much (I am a teacher with limited time). Sometimes I think I should have gone a little longer, but I am happy I did it for a year. It only took a few days so I tend to think he was about ready anyway.

My sister's two kids have both been different. Her oldest one weaned himself at one when she was away on a business trip for a few days. When she got back, he wanted nothing to do with her anymore. Her youngest (18 months) still nurses at night and shows no signs of weaning anytime soon. She co-sleeps so he continues to nurse several times during the night.

I think you have a good plan. Just keep going until it is clear to you that either he or you is ready.

Good luck!

Default Re: just curious

Yes, all children are different.. and all families are different. Lots of kids do wean around 20 months. Mine didn't.