Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What should a BF mom be eating

Question What should a BF mom be eating

so as a BF mom ideally what should i be eating??? ideally how many calories should i put in, sample menus, helpful websites, TIA!! i really want to make this work and do everything possible to help him out
    Autumn
    Moma to *Silas* 10-30-07

Default Re: What should a BF mom be eating

Typically about 500 calories more than you would eat otherwise.

Lots of details at the links below.

http://kellymom.com/nutrition/mom/index.html

http://llli.org/NB/NBmaternalnutrition.html

http://llli.org/NB/NBMarApr04p44.html
    Lynn
    DS1: bf 7/2006 -> 4/2009; multiple food allergies
    DS2: bf 9/2009 -> ???
    ; multiple food allergies
    Breastmilk Donor - http://hmbana.org/index/donatemilk
    Click HERE to learn about baby led solids (BLS) / baby led weaning (BLW)

I am by no means an expert, and I'm sure other moms will have great resources to share, but I'll tell you what I've learned.

First I make sure I eat a reasonably balanced diet and get MORE calories. I believe 500-800 extra calories per day is recommended. That means I have enough protein, good hearty carbs and fruits and vegetables every day. If you or your baby don't have a dairy sensitivity, plenty of dairy to keep up calcium is a good thing- at least 3 servings and more, as I recall.

For me making sure I have enough protein is essential. I get very weak and dizzy if I don't eat alot of protein. Also having three meals and snacks in between helps me keep up my energy.

I supplement daily with prenatal vitamin and omega-3 fish oil. I'll also take acidophilus capsules and eat plain yogurt if my nips get itchy (helps keep thrush at bay)

And yes, WATER is very important to me. I try to get 3-4 22 oz glasses of water in per day. When I first starting BFing, I would drink a glass with every day time feeding. My skin looks better and I feel better when I drink water.