Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: about to throw in the breast (help)

Default about to throw in the breast (help)

im rather new at this my baby is just over two weeks and we have been breastfeeding from the beginning with TONs of issues.

first of i can never tell if he is latched on correctly, i am assuming that he is as it does not hurt any longer at our feedings. in the beginning i was struggling with the proper latch and he ended up damaging my nipple but that has now healed.

every night i struggle to get him latched on, he bobbs his head so much and his little arms are all over the place at every feeding, we are feeding at every two to three hours; some nights every hour for whatever reason. even if he has latched on for like 10 mins i will go to burp him and he will start to bob his head so i offer him more. btw he seldom burps????? i get spit up about half of the time.
    his times at the breast are not consistent; some times it can be 10 mins others 35-40 mins? i just dont understand.

he was born 8lbs 15oz then fell to 8lbs 6oz; at our last dr visit he was 8lbs 13 oz . but i am still not sure that he is getting enough at times he is only eating 10-15 mins every 2-3 hours? one side is that enough?

i have attempted to pump and i would say that i get on the average of 1 oz? how do people get 4 oz at pumping? i just done understand.

he has several wet diapers i would say 7-8 a day however poop diapers are rare. i would say 1-2 a day sometimes every other day?

im just really frustrated at this point that he does not feed all that well, i thought this would come natural however that has not been the case at all.

Default Re: about to throw in the breast (help)

I have been where you are and made it through. My son is 15 months now. You CAN do this. It is so frustrating when you feel like you are constantly hitting obstacles.