Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A few questions- please help

Unhappy A few questions- please help

Hi,

I am new to this but I am trying really hard to not give up on nursing my 3 week old. I got extremely frustrated at first and began exclusively pumping and giving bottles; now I am back to nursing but I feel like I am not really getting the help I need from the people around.

My daughter nurses well on the first side for 3-5 minutes and then pulls her head back and screams. I try to put her back on and she will latch and after a few sucks pull off and scream again. I burp her and she usually falls asleep and wants nothing to do with the other side. Sometimes it seems like she is so hungry, but after latching on for a few sucks she just screams and screams.

I have a very fast let down and she is usually gulping and sometimes choking on it at the very beginning. It seems like if I don't get her on perfect the first time milk is shooting in a steady stream all over her face and clothes!(Making her mad and both of us very wet!!) I don't know what I need to do or if what I am doing is right. I want to try hard to continue nursing, but I want to give her what she needs to be getting. Please help!!
    Last edited by danalynn724; March 20th, 2008 at 01:00 PM.

Default Re: A few questions- please help

You've found the right place for breastfeeding support! I didn't have many supporters either and this site was a Godsend! It sounds like you have an Over Active Let Down (OALD). Hopefully this link can give you all the info you need http://www.kellymom.com/bf/supply/fast-letdown.html. I have heard that other moms with forceful letdowns pull their babies off after letting down and let the milk drip into a towel for a minute and then relatch the baby. Also, as your little one gets older she may learn to cope with this better and become more efficient at swallowing. Good luck and keep up the good work .